Oliver Solberg drives Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 to maiden WRC2 victory

Son of former FIA World Rally Champion Petter Solberg and co-driver Elliott Edmondson win WRC2 category at second round of the 2023 season

On only its second FIA World Rally Championship event, two Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 made it onto the WRC2 podium. At Rally Sweden, Oliver Solberg (Sweden) and British co-driver Elliott Edmondson scored the maiden WRC2 victory for the new Rally2 class car from Mladá Boleslav. Finnish duo Sami Pajari/Eni Mälkönen, also of team Toksport WRT, finished third in the category.

A convincing performance from Oliver Solberg in Sweden. The 21 years old son of former FIA World Rally Champion Petter Solberg and co-driver Elliott Edmondson won WRC2 with a margin of 42.3 seconds from Ole Christian Veiby/Torstein Eriksen. Sharing a Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 run by team Toksport WRT, Solberg and Edmondson scored the fastest time of the WRC2 field on eight of the rally’s 18 stages.

“It’s fantastic, what a great feeling! It’s been an amazing weekend for both of us – no mistakes and really consistent,“ Solberg beamed at the finish after 302 competitive kilometers.

The Swedish-British duo was already the fastest of the Rally2 class during the season-opening Rallye Monte-Carlo.

After the snow, ice, and sub-zero temperatures of Sweden, dust, heat and elevations of more than 2,000 meters await the teams at the next round of the FIA World Rally Championship. Guanajuato Rally México (16-19 March 2023) is next on the calendar.

Rally Sweden, 9-12 February 2023, Results WRC2

1 Oliver Solberg/Elliott Edmondson (SWE/GBR), Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 2:33:42.6 hours
2 Ole Christian Veiby/Torstein Eriksen (NOR/NOR), VW Polo GTI Rally2 +42.3 seconds
3 Sami Pajari/Enni Mälkönen (FIN/FIN), Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 +1:15.1 minutes
4 Georg Linnamäe/James Morgan (EST/GBR), Hyundai i20N Rally2 +2:21.1 minutes
5 Marco Bulacia/Diego Vallejo (BOL/ESP), Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 +2:41.5 minutes
6 Teemu Suninen/Mikko Markkula (FIN/FIN), Hyundai i20N Rally2 +2:48.0 minutes
7 Emil Lindholm/Reeta Hämäläinen (FIN/FIN), Škoda Fabia RS Rally2 +3:01.5 minutes
8 Lauri Joona/Tuukka Shemeikka (FIN/FIN), Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo +3:10.6 minutes